Boulevard Lakefront Bike Tour

Not bacon lettuce tomato

Not bacon lettuce tomato

Today was Chicago’s annual Boulevard Lakefront Tour, organized by and benefiting the Active Transportation Alliance. The tour, Chicago’s longest-running bike ride, journeys along Chicago’s extensive boulevard system and parks in either 15, 27, 35, or 62-mile routes. A festival followed, with plenty of food, beer and music. This is the second major ride that Active Trans organizes. The other ride is Bike the Drive, which I wrote about here.

Melissa, Mr. Dottie and I volunteered as course marshals, directing riders to turn right and saying “Good Morning!” for four hours. The great thing about volunteering, much like bike commuting, is that even if you are tired and don’t feel like going (because, for example, you were out late at a concert the night before), it’s great fun once you get started.

we were so cool in our volunteer shirts

BLT volunteer shirts

All of the riders had huge smiles on their faces and thanked us for coming out. Lots of bike love all around!

old school right turn signal and friendly wave in one!

old school right turn signal, friendly wave in one

I haven’t had a chance to ride the tour myself, but it looks like a great time. Maybe next year.

More Chicago weekend fun: The Renegade Craft Fair (lots of bike-themed crafts, like a sweet pocket mirror Melissa bought me) and Regina Spektor.

Melissa and Me at the Renegade Craft Fair

Melissa and Me at the Renegade Craft Fair

The Chicago Theatre

The Chicago Theatre

Stay tuned for a separate post devoted to another weekend event: Tweed Ride!

Tagged , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Boulevard Lakefront Bike Tour

  1. Jeff Schneider says:

    Hi Dottie,

    I was happy to see you and Oma volunteering at Cortland and Marcey! The 62 mile route was indeed a lot of fun – we went through some south side neighborhoods that I normally never get a chance to see.

  2. dukiebiddle says:

    Chicago schedules a bicycle festival on the opening Sunday of the NFL season? No wonder everyone thinks we’re a bunch of poindexters. ;)

    • dottie says:

      Funny. :) I know nothing about NFL, so I had no idea.

    • E A says:

      Ah… there was another bike event on Sunday, too – the Evanston Bicycle Club’s North Shore Century. Luckily these bike events end by afternoon/early evening at the latest — no conflict with the start of the Bears’ season (not that the game was a good one for us).

  3. meligrosa says:

    awesome!! the renefade fair rocks <3 love your dress, pretty pretty :D

  4. Trisha says:

    Looks like fun! Funny, I also went to a BLT event this weekend but the letters did not stand for the same thing.

  5. Melissa Hope S says:

    I agree: volunteering was fun! I loved seeing all the different bikes. The ride there and back was fun too. Yet, a little intimidating. I remember saying, “Uh, I don’t know what to do here.” But, I didn’t get hit or yelled at and that’s good.

Leave a comment