Spring Joy Ride

On Sunday, I enjoyed a joy ride with my friend Maria, since we were both far from our mothers.  The weather was a bit chilly – in the mid 40’s – but the sun was shining and it’s mid-May, for goodness sake, so I wore a happy spring outfit and threw on hose to keep my legs warm.

P1030242resized

We biked down the lakefront trail and stopped to watch a sailboat race and enjoy some mimosas.  You can see our location on the tip of the harbor from my iPhone GPS below.

P1030229resized

After drinks, we decided to bike to the theater to see The Great Gatsby in 3D (two thumbs up!).  We wanted to avoid weekend traffic, so we chose to weave our way through the inner lakefront trail and neighborhood streets to get there.  I don’t think I’ve ever talked about the inner lakefront trail before.  The inner trail is a path that runs parallel to the lakefront trail for a couple miles through Lincoln Park.  The inner path is unpaved in many areas and is not plowed in the winter, but it’s generally a good option to escape the crowds or the winds by the lake, as long as you are not in a rush.

I filmed a bit of the joy ride to share here.  Enjoy!

Spring Joy Ride from LGRAB on Vimeo.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Spring Joy Ride

  1. Hyedie says:

    Nice video Dottie!! … and now we get to see what the brains behind PoCampo looks like! It was super chilly up in Toronto too this weekend. We even had hail on Mother’s Day!

  2. That was such a fun day!

  3. Oldbikerider says:

    Great Video!

    I’ll ask the questions on everybody’s mind – “should a Chicago Lawyer stop at stop signs, or are Sundays possibly exempt”? Plus ” Did you sip the Barefoot from a paper bag”?
    Inquiring minds want to know…!

  4. J.Claude says:

    Nice Video !

    Can I ask you what is the music you put in your video; i like it.

    • Dottie says:

      Sorry, I forgot to mention that in the post. The song is “Light, Livid” by Plurabelle and I found it on freemusicarchive.org.

  5. Kasper says:

    It is fun to see people using bikes to have …fun. I know they save gas, prevent further pollution, ease congestion, provide good exercise, and look cool…….but not enough is said about the old fashion fun.

    Visit Washington DC and join us for the Tweed Rides.

    Signed, Bullitt cargo bike rider.

  6. Myra Hill says:

    Nice ride.

Leave a comment