Mid-life Cri-cycle

Last month, reader Bethany made a delightful comment on my Velorbis Dannebrog review, sharing the tale of her new Velorbis, which she labeled her “mid-life cri-cycle.”  I responded that if she wanted to send a photo, I would love to share it with everyone here.  Today I checked my email and there it was, “Bethany’s Velorbis,” totally brightening up my morning.

Bethany and Her Velorbis Dannebrog

Bethany’s original comment:

Mine just came in and I love it! My 50th birthday present, I call it my mid-life cri-cycle. I chose the Velorbis over a heavier Dutch bike since we have plenty of hills in Kansas City. The flat lands everyone thinks of don’t start for another 200 miles or so. And who wouldn’t fall for the color. I just had to have it!

This bike is the most comfortable bike I ever ridden. It leaves simply no excuse in my mind for not riding a bike, as long as you have two legs that move. I look forward to the day when bike stores everywhere have these bikes. Until then, I give high marks to My Dutch Bike in San Francisco, where I bought my Velorbis.

I ride 4 miles each way to work and park it in the administrative area of my office. I found a lovely back street route. I’m proactive with the bell–people backing out don’t always see me–and take my lane. So far so good.

Thanks, Dottie, for introducing me to Dutch bikes, and transportation biking. I started following your blog after I read about you in Yes! Magazine.

Yay! Love it. Thanks for sharing, Bethany.

Does anyone else have a “mid-life cri-cycle?” What kind of bike would you choose?

Tagged , , , , , ,

14 thoughts on “Mid-life Cri-cycle

  1. M.A.R. says:

    I plan on ordering a custom handbuilt road bike for my 40th birthday next year. The builder, Six-Eleven Bicycle Co. is located in my town, Roanoke, Virginia. I’ll have to place the order for my mid-life cri-cycle soon!

  2. anniebikes says:

    I love the idea of a mid-life cri-cycle, but I can’t add anymore bikes…but, if I could, it would be the Betty Foy with cream colored tires. That bike would take me through my next 50 years. I am planning to go biking in France for my 50th. Oh baby, that’s next year.

    Bethany looks gorgeous on her red bike. It’s a perfect color and a perfect statement for someone who wants to be seen in traffic.

  3. Keltoi says:

    I recently purchased a cheap Chinese-made 3-speed from bikedirect.com to keep at work so I could ride it to FSU a few blocks away. (I was anxious about parking my $2K Heron in a place renowned for bike theft and partying.) The 3-speed is much better quality than I thought it would be and it’s a revelation to just hop on a bike in work clothes and just ride. I of course have lights, a bell, and saddlebags (Banjo Brothers waterproof panniers), and I wear a helmet. At 53, I’m a hopelessly over the hill geezer on a large Florida college campus full of beautiful young people, but may they be so lucky in another 30 years as I am now to be riding so simply and such having fun doing so.

  4. Jennifer in Scotland says:

    Is 37 too young for a mid-life cri-cycle? :) I have loved this bike since first spotting it on London Cycle Chic. It’s so joyful and fun.

  5. Sigrid says:

    This is awesome. Yay Bethany!

  6. Sue says:

    I love this post and Bethany looks amazing! I will have to plan for a mid-life cri-cycle.

  7. kimfromaustin says:

    Like Bethany I bought myself a bicycle for my 50th birthday this past August. I bought a Linus Mixte 8 and accessorized it to my heart’s content. I named my bicycle Lucille and it not only celebrates my past, but my future.

  8. I love this! Bethany looks so beautiful and happy on her red Velorbis – a great way to celebrate a midlife crisis!

  9. NancyB says:

    I’m 46 and I think I’m ready to start saving for my mid-life cri-cycle. I’m not sure what it will be but I’m leaning toward an electric bike since most trips around my house are 5+ miles. I love the red and the white walls on the Verlobis. Enjoy the ride Bethany!

  10. I’m not quite mid-life yet but my “I’m a frumpy mom” cri-cycle would be a vintage, Peugeot Mixte “ladies racer”. Although pretty much any Mixte with style would fit the bill. My frumpy mom-cycle is a Trek Navigator with brightly colored child seat. Most of the time on our small Army base I don’t even lock it up. No one wants to steal it anyway ;)

  11. I’m not quite mid-life yet but my “I’m a frumpy mom” cri-cycle would be a vintage, Peugeot Mixte “ladies racer”. Although pretty much any Mixte with style would fit the bill. My frumpy mom-cycle is a Trek Navigator with brightly colored child seat. Most of the time on our small Army base I don’t even lock it up. No one wants to steal it anyway ;)

  12. Stephannie Roy says:

    I jazzed up my orange Electra Townie to be the girl bike I never had as a kid. It was a gift to myself for landing my first real job after grad school.

    I love my daisy seat! However, I want a bike with more everything so I can ride in Toronto winters, so I’m saving up for a Dutch bike. I will miss my crazy orange bike (which my 12 year old will inherit). Here’s a photo: http://www.flickr.com/photos/teffiephd/4615426160/

  13. Karen says:

    Good question! I’m about to turn 49 and continuing to struggle with the issue of my next bike. I know that I’ll have the matter resolved by 50 but am currently struggling with whether it should be a Brompton or the Oma. I think the final decision might just be determined on where we end up moving.

  14. Inspiredcyclist.wordpress.com says:

    Bethany and her bright red bicycle both radiate cheerfulness!

Leave a comment